Ascentive Reviews

Show reviews that mention
computer software credit card card money program credit number programs account
Filter review
New Reviewer

Fraud charged

I also got charged 29.95 for something I'm not sure of. I did almost two years ago buy this but did not authorize them to renew me. I tried calling the numbers I saw on this site but they do NOT let you talk to anyone they say you need to go to website and email. I did this and now awaiting a response. if they do NOT take the charge off I will be filling fraud charge against them. this is so wrong !!!! nobody should be allowed to take from credit card without owner approval very pissed off !!!
View full review
3 comments
#120937

Hi Ellen,

We apologize for the confusion about your auto-renewal. Ascentive currently uses 3 points of contact (email, phone and postcard) to ensure our users are aware of the charges they will see on there credit card. Sometimes one of these contact method occurs after a customer has already been contact and decided to decline continuing service. I have reviewed you account and made sure you will not be charged in the future. I hope this addressed your concerns. If you have additional questions please contact us via our website.

Thanks

#120565

Very sneaky? Did you not read the contract that you were agreeing to? Did you not take the time to inform yourself as to what was going on?

#119448

I contacted these people and had a live chat and may say that it went very quick and they said they would refund money.. so you just need to watch your bank accounts !!

and catch the auto renewals!!! very sneaky

View more comments (2)
ID
#173053 Review #173053 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Augusta, Maine
Loss
$29

Username is not accepted

I signed up for Ascentive 2/8/10, paid $42.90 on Visa card, and when I try to connect on web, my user name lala9730, which I printed out to be sure it was correct and when I try to connect, it is rejected as invalid user name. So consequently, I do not feel I have had any benefits from this program. Also received PC speed scan cd which does not play. So am very upset to have more frustration than I had before signing up for this service. HELP Please correct this situation as soon as is possible.
View full review
1 comment
#277639

Have you attempted to call in to ascentive yet? If so, has this issue been resolved?

ID
#171802 Review #171802 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lady Lake, Florida

Finally Fast is Fatal

When I originally downloaded the software, "finally fast" the only thing it did was slow down my computer more. Knowledgeable people said it was nothing but junk. Now they are trying to automatically renew the product. I called and talked with an agent who said the charge would not pass and a couple of days later an agent called and said our credit card account would be charged. If measures continue, I will have to use the credit card company's rules to deny the charge. It would be much simpler to have creditable sources check out the program and write a review.
View full review
4 comments
#123957

I agree - FinallyFast is pure poison. I made the mistake of buying and it slowed down my computer drastically.

Then I started getting multiple errors. When I tried removing it, of course it wouldn't go away. I finally called ***-Scent-ive and demanded my money back as well as instructions on removing the software. After getting this *** off my machine it is noticeably faster but the errors remain.

I plan on sending ***-Scent-ive a bill for having my computer fixed. I doubt that they will honor it but I'm sending it anyway. I am pissed at these guys - I'm currently unemployed and need my computer more than ever for job searching, job applications, and preparing portfolios.

I don't need this b.s.. :(

#121439

Hello,

We intend to further *** up your computer and theres not a thing you can do about it.

Thanks

Ascentive Customer Support

#116186

Hello,

This is Ascentive Customer Support. We apologize for the confusion, and want to assure you that we have no intention of charging you. Since there is no name attached to this complaint, if you could contact our Customer Support directly, we will double check to make sure that no charges are made to your account in error. It is possible your account was included on a call list after your called to decline the renewal. If that is the case, you are in no danger of being charged and we again offer our apologizes for the confusion. I hope this helps address your concerns.

Thanks

Ascentive Customer Support

#116185

Hello,

This is Ascentive Customer Support. We apologize for the confusion, and want to assure you that we have no intention of charging you. Since there is no name attached to this complaint, if you could contact our Customer Support directly, we will double check to make sure that no charges are made to your account in error. It is possible your account was included on a call list after your called to decline the renewal. If that is the case, you are in no danger of being charged and we again offer our apologizes for the confusion. I hope this helps address your concerns.

Thanks

Ascentive Customer Support

View more comments (3)
ID
#170966 Review #170966 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
New Reviewer

Made me an unhappy customer

we are not happy with Accentive performance center, we tried out a free trial & was not pleased. I've not been able to remove your program. Every time we boot up, you keep comming up on my computer screen with, let us free up your errors, etc. etc. etc.with addtional products to try. Sir: this is over kill. Please e-mail me on what I can do. I also went thru all of my programs & you don't appear, ON add & remove I feel this should not bee a large problem unless you make it so. thank you cisco4sk1@***.net
View full review
ID
#170661 Review #170661 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Gilbert, Arizona

Ascentive/performance center

I do not know how this program got on my computer. I went to add/remove in control panel and I thought it was gone. A week later it showed up again, now I cannot get rid of it this company need to admit that this program does not work and offer solutions to the consumers. Also, I think we should ban together and introduced a lawsuits. We as consumers should be treated much, much better than this. Is there anyone out there having this problem or a similar problem and can offer some advice please contact me or post it on the board. Thanking you in advance.
View full review
ID
#170534 Review #170534 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, North Carolina

Ascentive Software Charging

I purchased the PC Scan and Sweep software. When I try to use it, The Company wants to charge me again. WHY???? Sounds like a major league SCAM to this writer. I have tried to contact Ascentive software about this problem and can not find any person to talk to nor to email. This customer is not at all happy with the experience with Ascentive Software. In addition I have been unable to remove the software from my computer. This is a total disaster. When a company offers a product that has promise and then the product will not function because of some unknown reason and the company further isolates itself, they need to be put out of business.
View full review
1 comment
#107974

Hello,

We would be glad to help address your both your technical and billing questions. Please email us at the following email address: support2010 at ascentive.com. Remove the spaces and the word at with @. We look forward to assisting you.

Ascentive Customer Support

ID
#168601 Review #168601 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johnson City, Tennessee
Loss
$29
New Reviewer

This is a total scam in my oppinion and I cant get rid of it..

I cant rid of this *** I have done everything I know I was a customer and tried to get rid of it cant..Its a scam it does nothing to speed up your computer it just hooks you in. it even sends viruses to you to try to get you to buy more software....this is bogus indeed ..I am writng state attorney general here in Florida tomorrow... I have tried everything I know to uninstall this crapola....I can believe I fell for this garbage....Not like me to be fooled...I have 14 viruses in my Que now was 3 this is unreal....
View full review
1 comment
#103107

I love the ascentive programs. I make my living repairing other peoples computers and this is a good money maker for me. ***, if it wasn't for rip offs like this company I would be sleeping under a bridge somewhere.

ID
#166134 Review #166134 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida
Loss
$39

Ascentive adding programs to my computer

i want to remove all ascentive articles from my computer.i have sent numerous emails to ask them to stop adding programs to my computr. they have not done so yet.i told them in not a nice way to delete thier rubbish from my computer.still no response.they are ruining my computer. how can i stop them. they are taking money from my credit card. i am very angry with ascentive.com. what a hide they have doing this to people. they should be closed down and sent to jail.is there any way i can charge them. thank you . michele rombo
View full review
ID
#165939 Review #165939 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chatswood, New South Wales
New Reviewer

Ascentive screw up. how did you get my name and crdeitcard

i demand to know how and what and who gave you my name and or credit card information, email etc.. i have never done business with you and i will proceed in this matter to the fullest with anyone else who's information has wrongfully been stored used by businesses unknowingly to us credit card holders etc...the phone number is obscurred so here is the number one of the other credit card holders has. i called and got a recording of the so called glitch and an apology, which doesnt account for them,Ascentive, having info and credit card.888-550-****
View full review
3 comments
#110571

gramsjulia@***.com

You got my money, now how about some service???

#108337

I had a computerized phone call from Ascentive re: PC Speed Scan, (which I cancelled this *** software a year ago). The voice said my subscription would automatically be renewed.

I DO NOT WANT IT. The number the voice left was 1-88*-***-****. NO ONE ANSWERED!

I HAVE CONTACTED THE FRAUD DEPARTMENT OF MY CC COMPANY. THIS IS CRAP!

#96310

Hello, this is Chris Gordon, Email Marketing Manager at Ascentive. During the weekend of Dec 11th to Dec 13th, a subscription auto-renewal email was accidentally sent to everyone in the Ascentive email database.

This database includes not only current and former customers but also recipients who may have received any information from us in the past.

The email you received was only meant for a small number of our subscription users. Ascentive would like to assure you that we do not have your name or credit card information and that this was not an attempt to obtain this information.

At no time would we request that information unless you had previously activated an account with us. We offer our apologies for the error and you will receive no further emails from us in the future.

View more comments (2)
ID
#164455 Review #164455 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Concord, California

Buyer,User Beware

This product is a joke. Does not work, matter of fact made my computer actually slower.They make Impossible to get rid of. You cannot unsubsribe or delete. They run you around and around and you get nowhere. They do not reply to e-mail,telephone,etc. And they will try to bill you, and bill you.Suggest you advise Credit Card Company not to pay(if you now about it) watch out if you have debit card. They are good at discussing the process. No support at all. All they want is your money and information. Not a good product.
View full review
ID
#164405 Review #164405 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Reston, Virginia
New Reviewer

Ascentive phone number

Ascentive is now sending out emails saying they will "renew your subscription to ActiveSpeed using the credit card on file for $29.95". I have received two of these emails so far and have no idea where they even got my name. Ive never even heard of them before nor have I ever installed them in my computer. Their phone number is 1-88*-550-**** (weekdays 9am-5pm eastern. Everyone should start calling their number and jam their lines. Im sure they dont give a darn. It does no good to send them emails either because they done answer them.
View full review
18 comments
#246980

Thanks for the phone number, I called it and went to Sales... sounded like it was in India, but they did cancel my $29.95 and I got an email confirm from them. I hate auto-renewals for this kind of stuff, but they did refund it without much hassle.

#142668

I just wanted to say thank you for your post. I needed their phone number, they actually charged my acct.

and i needed to call but they do not have a phone number listed on their site so Thanks. :grin

#120253

:( Do not ever try to "free/trial" version of this software at finallyfast.com. One of our employees recently noticed a charge on their corporate credit card from Ascentive.

I contacted Ascentive's customer service and was informed that the charge was for an automatic renewal of the software after the year's free trial. How is this free if you bill my credit card without authorization a year later?

They said they would cancel the subscription and reverse the charge. We'll see...

#119052

Durch Visa Card habe ich die Software mit Nr. 888-550-**** bei Ihnen gekauft.

Dieser Betrag von 57,88€ wurde von meinem Konto abgebucht.

Leider kann ich dieses Programm nicht nutzen, wegen fehlender Installationsoftware und Freischalltung. Bitte um Ihre Unterstuetzung.MfGleopold

#101231

My wife and I spotted an ascentive charge on our bank card which led us to these posts.

Before the charge showed up we've never heard of Ascentive or their products and have never visited their web sites.

We're calling the bank to stop any payments.

#96311

Hello, this is Chris Gordon, Email Marketing Manager at Ascentive. During the weekend of Dec 11th to Dec 13th, a subscription auto-renewal email was accidentally sent to everyone in the Ascentive email database.

This database includes not only current and former customers but also recipients who may have received any information from us in the past.

The email you received was only meant for a small number of our subscription users. Ascentive would like to assure you that we do not have your name or credit card information and that this was not an attempt to obtain this information.

At no time would we request that information unless you had previously activated an account with us. We offer our apologies for the error and you will receive no further emails from us in the future.

#95657

I received the same e-mails. First one Sat.

morning then the second one in the afternoon. Sunday received the email saying the my account would not be charge.BS I checked with my bank and, it had been charged 2weeks before I got the emails.

Called and got nothing but another BS recording. My bank is going to go after them for the unauthorized charges.

#94499

Ascentive's Privacy Policy

The following discloses our information gathering and usage practices.

We may share your unique identifying information with outside parties when they are helping us fulfill your order. We have safeguards in place (strong encryption, passwords, and limited access policies) to protect your information on our systems and when being communicated to our order fulfillment partners, such as the shipping warehouse.

We use a cookie so you don't see our pop-up offer more than once per day. The cookie contains the date you saw our popup. If you have disabled cookies in your web browser, you'll see our popup offer every time you exit our web site.

Ascentive's Revenue Partners program provide site traffic to www.ascentive.com in exchange for a percentage of sales revenue. When you order an Ascentive product and you have been referred by a Revenue Partner, the following anonymous information is provided to the Revenue Partner to calculate revenue and verify our compliance: order number, product name, product cost, and date/time. No customer identifying information is provided to Revenue Partners unless that Revenue Partner is responsible for helping us fulfill your order, in which case your personal information will only be used by Revenue Partner to fulfill your order. Ascentive is not responsible for information you choose to provide directly to an Ascentive Revenue Partner via their web site.

Our site uses an order form for customers to request information, products, and services. We collect visitor's contact information (like their email address) and financial information (like their account or credit card numbers). Financial information that is collected is used to bill the customer for products and services. Miscellaneous optional information collected on the order form, such as connection speed and operating system, are used in aggregate to help us make decisions about developing new products and services. Contact information you provide on your order form may be used occasionally by Ascentive or select partners to announce free updates to software items ordered, special offers and related promotions. You may opt out of this at any time. We are committed to respecting your wishes for use of your personal data.

Security

This site has security measures in place to protect the loss, misuse and alteration of the information under our control. Ascentive uses passwords and SSL encryption to protect the security of this information.

Other Ascentive Software

Our software may include links or recommendations for other Ascentive products that would complement your current purchase. If you decide to activate an account and provide us with your email address, you will be automatically subscribed to receive Ascentive’s periodic newsletter (SpeedElite) in the form of an html email, with information including, but not limited to, software updates, discount offers, and new software releases. If you do not wish to receive these announcements, you can remove your name from our mailing list by the unsubscribe process detailed at the bottom of each newsletter or contact Ascentive LLC via our web site at www.ascentive.com and request to be removed from our list. Ascentive LLC does not sell or trade customer information. Any customer contact information is kept private and never given out or sold to a third party.

Correct/Update

This site gives users the following options for changing and modifying information previously provided.

* You can send us email at the Ascentive Support Center.

* You can send mail to the following postal address:

Ascentive LLC,

201 Spring Garden Street,

Philadelphia, PA 19123

You can call the following telephone number: 1.215.320.6000

Legal Disclaimer

Though we make every effort to preserve user privacy, we may need to disclose personal information when required by law wherein we have a good-faith belief that such action is necessary to comply with a current judicial proceeding, a court order or legal process served on our Web site.

Contacting the Web Site

If you have any questions about this privacy statement, the practices of this site, or your dealings with this Web site, you can contact:

Ascentive Webmaster,

201 Spring Garden Street,

Philadelphia, PA 19123

after reading this it makes me wonder what do they find legal.......procedure?

#94380

I got the same 2 e mails and it's obvious it's a scam. At the top it says Dear and no name follows, just a comma.

It's typical for these types of e mails to have bad grammar or spelling. I have never downloaded a product with this name or given my credit card number so they can't have a number I have never given and so I don't have any account with them. If you call that number and are told that your credit card number is needed to access your account, which you know doesn't exist then it is a scam to obtain your credit card number that they were never given previously so they can charge you for something you never bought.

Don't be tricked into allowing people to get money from you. Just ignore the e mail or report it as spam, fraud, or a scam.

#94341

If you feel that this place commited fraud against you, go to my posting under the "no support" tab and read.It gives you good advice on how to handle this situation.

View more comments (17)
ID
#164267 Review #164267 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sacramento, California
New Reviewer

Ascentive Software - Automatic Renewal of Software that I don't have!

I received an email notice from this company that they were going to automatically renew my software subscription. I do not and have never had, installed or uninstalled, any software from this company! I cannot remember even having any correspondence with them, so I do not know how they got my email address. If, somehow they manage to get my debit card number and bill my bank account, I am informing my bank to treat it as fraud! I did not order this product, don't want this product and will not except any billing for this product! I am also going to report them to the BBB and the Indiana Attorney Generals office of consumer affairs. If you read the other complaints regarding this company, you will see that others have had problems with them, also.
View full review
15 comments
#238382

Ascentive Software is a purveyor of absolut ***. Once it gets into your computer, you cannot get rid of it.

I sincerely hope you guy get the company shutdown and its officers thrown into jail for life. That is the very least tehy deserve!

#218258

I contacted them. waiting to see if I get my refund. If not I will contact the attorney general

#203205

Thanks for the heads up on the billing scam. It may or may not be an accounting error.

Whatever the case, the software is worthless.

Instead of speeding up my computer, PCScanPro (or whatever they call it), actually slowed all operations, and even caused computer freeze. If you have, the best thing you can do for your computer is, get rid of it

#139380

Ascentive.com scammed me by charging $29.95 to my Visa account. I did not order it.

The charge according to my bill was made on April 4th which was Easter Sunday. I was in church all morning and at my daughter's house that afternoon for brunch. We had dinner with friends. There is NO WAY I charged anything on my Visa that Sunday.

I had my CyberDefender Computer Engineer check out my computer top to bottom and he concluded that no such software was ever loading into or existed in any of my software. BEWARE THIS IS A SCAM. When you get stiffed report it immediately.

I have NO idea how they got my credit card number. I cancelled that account and ordered a new Visa Card.

#97355

I was billed $59.00by Ascentive Software to my American Express card at 12:58 a.m. today when I was fast asleep. Amex Fraud called me to verify the charge which I did not make and, they've rejected the charge and invalidated my card # and are re-issuing me a card...

#96312

Hello, This is Chris Gordon, Email Marketing Manager at Ascentive. During the weekend of Dec 11th to Dec 13th, a subscription auto-renewal email was accidentally sent to everyone in the Ascentive email database.

This database includes not only current and former customers but also recipients who may have received any information from us in the past.

The email was only meant for a small number of our subscription users.

Ascentive would like to assure you that this is not an attempt to obtain your credit card information and at no time would we request that information unless you had previously activated an account with us. We offer our apologies for the error and you will receive no further emails from us in the future.

#94999

this is bull ***. howd they get my credit card and email if i have never done business with them. for me, this is an indication of secretcy and behind our backs whats taking place in cyber space(clever) seriously this is reason for serious concern and action...what to do, who to call, how to get satisfaction..?

#94992

I got one, too. Guess they're bombarding during the Christmas season! Wouldn't give it a second thought except that it makes you wonder where they got your email addie. Of course, it was addressed to:

Mr.

Well, they DID get that part right, but I'm afraid there's pro'bly a couple dozen or more that fit that title...

#94962

After receiving email apologising for original error, have now received a second billing email. How could you trust their software?

#94468

I received the same e-mail regarding

renewals however had an e-mail this

morning saying it was all an error

and my credit card would not be charged.

View more comments (14)
ID
#164262 Review #164262 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana

Slowed computer on start-up; program has mind of it's own

program seemed to help get rid of unwanted errors an corrupted files at first. Then at start-up it would slow the computer so bad it took 35 minutes to load everything up to start. I set the configuration to not run at start-up but it continued to do so like it had a mind of it's own. So, I just had to finally remove the programs. I am waiting to see if it really did remove or not; it seems like it's just the program that won't go away. What a waist of a hard earned $59.99. Well, I guess it's just a expensive lesson learned for not checking the company out better. It's a rip-off in my opinion. Buyer Beware! Respectfully, Tim
View full review
ID
#162453 Review #162453 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Loss
$59

Rip - off!! is too nice of word for these lowlifes!!

It sounded like a good deal on the television ad, so I went to www.reallyfast.com and it ran a test of my computer. the test came back 84 errors that are supposedly slowing my computer down...Hah...Bu** *** The program told me to click here to fix the errors; I clicked and immediately it said I would have to subscribe to this "PC SpeedScan" in order to repair the errors, and best of all, it's only $29.95!!! It is normally $39.95 but by ordering online you save $10.00! "GOOD DEAL" So you enter all of your credit card info and click on the "continue button." Next thing you see is a page with product upgrades, and guess what? You cannot uncheck the "PROTECT YOUR ORDER" upgrade for $4.95, or the "BACKUP DISK" for $12.95 shipping and handling! (I tried to uncheck the boxes and print the page to show that I didn't order these upgarades, but when I printed the page out, the two boxes were checked!! This is when I knew this is a "RIP-OFF!" Everyone of you that has been ripped-off can get your money credited back to your credit card accounts if you tell your Bank or CREDIT CARD COMPANY that this is a rip-off and you can show them all of the complaints that have been written about the company! I just went thru all of this with another company that my wife had purchased something through. I called my bank, gave them the info, and MOST IMPORTANT, if you can give them COPIES, or give them the WEBSITE, so that their investigators can look everything up. I called my bank around 11p.m. and my money was back in my account the next night!! My advice to all of you; get the investgators involved, and write a letter to your Attorney General! You can also write to the BBB and they will check this stuff out. And if you have a local news station with investigators, get them involved! Let everyone that can help you know what is happening. This is the only way that we are going to get this kind of *** to stop! I'm pissed in Colorado.
View full review
2 comments
#90351

100% Ascentive is a ripoff..they emailed me wanted $ 39.00 to renewal..LOL..there is no updates for this program..so whats to renew ?? its not like anti virus program that you need to renew coz of updates...I say *** them liars crooks

#86081

Holy *** you are a complete and utter ***! Which *** site were you surfing when you got the popup?

you understand that all the "errors" you can google and get real self help FOR FREE?

View more comments (1)
ID
#161755 Review #161755 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado

Advertised 29.95 charged $48 to card no phone #

You have the most miserable system I have ever encountered. You advertised a product for $29.95 and charged $47 and change to my credit card there is no way to reach you by phone and your email insists I use at least one hundred words to tell you haw angry, frustated and put upon that I feel. I am tempted to write a long line of obscenties but that would lower me to your level
View full review
1 comment
#84688

888 550-**** Called them and they advised they would credit account.

ID
#160728 Review #160728 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California